Welcome To The InJust10Pages Blog Channel


InJust10Pages blogs use a special multi-blog channel system. What the heck does that mean? It means that each blog category is actually a separate blog. As a result you can subscribe to the specific RSS feed and Facebook Fan Page of that specific topic.


Here's what to do to get access to topic-specific content:

1. Choose your favorite topic from the blog menu on the left

2. Click the orange icon beside the blog title to subscribe via rss

3. Click the Facebook image/icon to unlock topic-specific bonus resources not available on the blog

4. Sign-up for free Microbook access

5. Start reading and enjoy all the FREE content

Gluten Free Dinner Recipes

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Gluten-Free Recipes on 01-04-2013   

Are you looking for amazing gluten free dinner recipes, tips and ideas? In Just 10 Pages offers one of the largest selections of gluten free dinner recipes that is guaranteed to be gluten free and will keep you coming back for more! You never have to worry about eating another boring, tasteless gluten free dinner!


Living with Celiac disease or gluten intolerance doesn't have to taste bad or be overly complicated. All of these recipes are delicious and easy. This article is updated regularly with new and exciting gluten free dinner recipes so be sure to bookmark this page, share it with friends and come back often.



...continue reading

Submit Your Gluten Free Recipe

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Gluten-Free Recipes on 01-02-2013   

Do you have a favorite gluten free you would love to share with the world? Please fill out the form below and share your recipe!...continue reading

Cross Contamination and Eating Out at Restaurants

Posted by Chef Liz Scott in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 12-21-2012   

"How does one get the message to a restaurant chef that gluten-free is a serious request and that cross-contamination is a real concern?" - Mary P. - Naples, Florida

Contrary to popular belief, the caricature of the snobby chef is actually being replaced by the reality of one who has trained and is aware of food allergies and intolerances. Today with food reactions on the rise, commercial establishments know it is necessary to be watchful of these problems and the unwanted repercussions if they are not adhered to.

Having said that, it is still always better to be safe than sorry. If there is any doubt that a dish you are ordering may be subject to cross-contamination, error on the side of caution and order something that is either specifically stated to be gluten-free or is gluten-free by nature. Generally professional kitchens are extremely well segregated when it comes to categories of foods as well as being repeatedly cleaned so cross-contamination should not be a problem. If you are still worried, carry one of the restaurant cards you can order on line that states to the cooks which ingredients might be dangerous for gluten-free eaters.

...continue reading

Gluten Free Tax Deduction on Food

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 12-20-2012   

"Is it true that there is a gluten free tax deduction on food? How does it work?" - Andrew T. - Ottawa, Ontario

That is a great question. I am happy to report that YES there is a tax deduction for gluten free food! You should be able to get back the difference of what you spend on gluten free foods when compared to 'regular' food products.

The cost of purchasing specific gluten free foods can add up. Many of the items you buy can be almost double the price of what you might spend on 'regular' food items. Thankfully there is an opportunity to get some money back at tax time. But there is a catch.

If you think you might be gluten intolerant, the first thing you should do is: “Get the right blood test.” There are good reasons for this. First of all, it is important to get a proper diagnosis so you can receive the right medical care. Also, once you are diagnosed, the gluten free food is recognized as a medical expense both in Canada and the USA.  The government will reimburse you for the difference between the cost of regular food and the increased cost of the gluten free product.

...continue reading

I’m looking to make a gluten-free key lime pie. Any tips or ideas?

Posted by Chef Liz Scott in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 12-19-2012   

Pies like these actually lend themselves very well to gluten-free restrictions. Key lime pie as well as lemon meringue and custard or pudding based pies go extremely well with a graham cracker crust. Fortunately, gluten-free graham crackers DO exist and can be crumbled and used just like regular graham crackers to make your crust. Simply follow any recipe and substitute. As for the filling, cornstarch is generally the thickener used which is also safe and meringue is gluten-free as well. So making a gluten-free key lime pie should be “a piece of cake” for pie lovers everywhere.

Gluten free key lime pie recipes can easily be prepared by modifying the original version of key lime pie. The changes that need to be made would obviously be eliminating gluten from the recipe.  Key lime pie is originally a recipe of Florida Keys where you would hardly find fresh milk. It was when canned milk, that required no refrigeration was introduced, that key lime pie was born.

...continue reading

Why is the cost of gluten-free products so prohibitive?

Posted by Chef Liz Scott in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 12-17-2012   

Just like any product that caters to a minority and requires special handling and approval, gluten-free products tend to cost more to manufacture. One of the most expensive parts of gluten-free product control as well as allergy-free product control is the need for separate plants, machines, and equipment to process them. The ingredients themselves are probably minimally costly but the overseeing to guarantee the “gluten-free” label by government standards is what hikes up your products’ prices. As more and more products become popular due to the increased number of gluten sensitive people, there is a definite chance that prices will decrease in the long term. ...continue reading

Is Corn Gluten Free

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 12-14-2012   

"Is there gluten in corn? I have recently been diagnosed as gluten intolerant and have spent the first few days searching for gluten free options. While I was preparing a list of gluten free foods, I came across corn. Can corn be included in my gluten free diet? Is corn gluten free?" - Ashley P. Toronto, Canada

Yes, corn is naturally gluten free and you can definitely include it in your gluten free diet but you must be aware of a few things. Corn on the cob, corn grits, and corn tortillas are all safe for you. But, having made this statement, can we safely conclude that corn is safe for celiac disease patients? Let us tread into this matter in a bit more detail. But before this, let us also understand what is gluten and its relation with the type of protein present in corn.  

...continue reading

Gluten Free Gingerbread

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Gluten-Free Recipes on 12-12-2012   

'Tis the season for family, friends, and festive treats. And nothing is more festive than Gingerbread - gluten free of course!

Click here to skip the story and see my gluten free gingerbread recipe.

Last year my friends and I had an ambitious plan to create an amazing gingerbread house using our very own gluten free gingerbread recipe. We had a lot of fun preparing the recipe together while talking about our goals, our dreams and Christmas wishes. While the gingerbread baked in the oven, the kitchen was filled with laughter and with the fresh aroma that reminded us of the holidays. 


It was one of those moments that brought each of us back to our childhood when the family would get together and create something special. We took extra care in the thickness of the gingerbread and after a little practice it was soft enough to carve but crisp enough to have that perfect gingerbread 'snap'. The beauty was, if we made a mistake, each 'broken' piece became a perfect cookie to throw in a bowl and share with everyone after we were done. But we may have tried a few pieces first. :)

...continue reading

Is Soy Sauce Gluten Free?

Posted by Chef Liz Scott in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 12-07-2012   

"I've heard that soy sauce contains gluten. Is this true?"

Unfortunately many types of commercial soy sauces do indeed contain gluten in the form of wheat and/or barley which is combined with the fermented soybeans. Tamari soy sauce, however, is made only from the soybeans so it is certainly safe to use for gluten-free eaters. It is easy to find these days in the Asian section of your grocery store and certainly in any ethnic or health food market.

Commercially available soy sauces are not gluten free as they are prepared from wheat. This may come as a shock for gluten intolerant individuals as they may think that soy sauce is simply made of soy and can be safely incorporated in their gluten free recipes. But, the truth is miles away from this. Soy sauces are made from wheat and hence are not safe for celiac disease individuals. There have been some studies suggesting that even the commercially available soy sauces prepared from wheat are gluten free!! Surprised? Yeah, and so was I, when one of the articles I read stated that the process by which the soy sauce is prepared reduces the gluten content in them to as less as 20ppm (level of gluten as recommended by the FDA for gluten free products).

...continue reading

Our First Video That Explains Gluten Intolerance

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 12-05-2012   

This video explanation about gluten intolerance is the first 'paper animation' video we've created! It is one of many we will be creating over the next little while and it is our way to help people better understand gluten intolerance in a fun, entertaining and educational way. Learning doesn't have to be boring!

This video is perfect for anyone who is new to gluten intolerance, or for someone who wants to hear it from a different perspective and doesn't want to sit through one of those boring 20 minute long videos. We've all watched them and I know I am usually asleep before the first few minutes.

Our paper animation video goes into pretty excellent detail and keeps it fresh and exciting! We already have close to 1,000 views and we want to get as many as possible!

Thank you for your continued support and I hope you love "Gluten Intolerance Explained by In Just 10 Pages"

 
...continue reading

Where can one find gluten-free wraps for sandwich making and rollups?

Posted by Chef Liz Scott in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 12-03-2012   

"Where can one find gluten-free wraps for sandwich making and rollups?"

One of the pioneers of gluten-free products has been Trader Joe’s and there you will find a variety of gluten-free wraps, tortillas, and breads that can be used to roll up your favorite fillings. In addition Whole Foods and other health food markets carry some as well. Look for those made with spelt, quinoa, or millet. In a pinch, corn-based tortillas can be used for wrapping and folding too and are particularly delicious when warmed.

With this being said corn tortillas are however a bit dry and brittle. When you add your customized filling inside the corn tortillas and wrap these up, they tend to break off easily. Instead you can try and purchase those wraps that are prepared from a combination of whole grain flours such as brown rice, amaranth, millet and quinoa, as these are malleable and will not break off easily.

...continue reading

How to do a Gluten Free Diet

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 11-30-2012   

   

"How can I go gluten free? How can I do a gluten free diet and what foods do I need to exclude? Is preparing gluten free meal really difficult?" - David R. - Salem, Washington

How to do a gluten free diet is an important question but let's first understand gluten intolerance. Gluten intolerance is widespread affecting individuals across the globe. Gluten intolerance is a disease of the auto immune system. Gluten when ingested triggers several autoimmune reactions inside the body that causes inflammation of the small intestine which further causes the villi to wither off. As a result of this, the small intestine looses the ability to absorb any further nutrients consumed from the food.

Eating a diet free from gluten is a must for those who suffer from gluten intolerance. Doing a gluten free diet helps control as well as correct the signs and symptoms associated with gluten intolerance.

Gluten free diet is the one that does not contain the protein composite – gluten in it. Gluten is a major component of cereals such as wheat, rye and barley. It is also found in triticale – which is a cross variety of wheat and rye. Going gluten free is not difficult and can be done by keeping in mind a few tips.

...continue reading

Is Millet Gluten Free? Is There Gluten in Millet?

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 11-28-2012   

   

"Is millet gluten free? I am gluten intolerant and searching for gluten free options to include in my diet. I came across an article that said millet can be consumed by gluten intolerant individuals. Is it true? Is millet really free from gluten? Please advice" - Ken R. - Regina, Saskatchewan

Yes millet is completely gluten free and you can safely include millet in your diet. There are several cereals that are free from gluten and can be incorporated in your gluten free diet. One such grain is “millet”. Millet is not just gluten free but also is nutritionally rich. Millet is rich in essential amino acids namely methionine and cysteine. Essential amino acids are those that our body cannot produce and hence these need to be supplied daily through the diet. In addition to the nutritional properties, millet is far more easily digested as compared to other grains.

Several food companies have now started incorporating millet in their gluten free recipes. Millet in combination with other gluten free grains is now used for making bread, gluten free flour, pastas and many other such recipes.

...continue reading

Gluten Free Beer - Options for Beer Lovers

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 11-26-2012   

   

"My husband, who was just diagnosed as gluten intolerant, loves beer. There have been several occasions when beer has made him feel sick and doesn't think beer is the problem. Will it affect his health if he keeps drinking beer? Are there gluten free beer alternatives?" - Amie S. - New York, New York

You are right, normal beer does contain gluten. This is because, beer is usually made from barley and barley contains gluten. Hence, consuming 'normal' beer can definitely make him sick. It is therefore advisable to keep him away from most types of beer, even during the big game, the holidays or the guys night out. There is good news though! Gluten free beers are available in abundance, giving celiac patients or gluten intolerant individuals, such as your husband, a perfect alternative for any occasion. Any beer that is especially formulated for celiac individuals is absolutely gluten free and believe me they also taste great!

With over 2 million individuals suffering from gluten intolerance, the introduction of gluten free beer has brought a glow to many faces - and it isn't the alcohol talking. Gluten intolerance is an autoimmune disease, wherein the body exhibits intolerance towards the gluten. Gluten is a protein composite found in some cereal products, namely wheat, rye and barley. Hence, products made from these sources should be avoided by celiac individuals to avoid complications. Most beer fits right into that 'unsafe' category.

...continue reading

Black Friday Deals - Save on Gluten Free Recipe Cookbooks

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 11-23-2012   

Black Friday Deals - Save on Gluten Free Recipe Cookbooks


If you don't want to wait in line and deal with the lineups this Black Friday then Check out our incredible gluten free recipe cookbook sale! This offer is good until the clock strikes midnight so act fast!


So the total package includes the 60 original recipes, 120 additional bonus recipes for a total of 180 recipes! Plus you get to keep the bonuses even if you decide to get a refund. This set isn't even available in our store because of our Black Friday Sale, but because you are a new member you can get the entire set today for only $9.95! But only if you order right now!

Click this link NOW to get 120 gluten free recipes!

Here's a small taste of what you will get:

Enjoy cooking easy, delicious chef created gluten free recipes. With 60 plus a bonus of 120 additional gluten free recipes.

...continue reading

Gluten Free Kitchen

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 11-21-2012   

   

"I desperately need to make my kitchen free of gluten. Last week my child was diagnosed with celiac disease. I am worried because he now has to be on gluten free diet. This means making the kitchen a gluten free space. How can I make my kitchen gluten free?" - Michelle M. - Portland, Oregon

Transforming your normal regular kitchen to gluten free one is not at all difficult, and can be done with a little practice and some precautions. The problem arises when you have to handle both gluten containing and gluten free foods when cooking in the same kitchen. I am sure you too must be in the same pot as you said your child is suffering from celiac disease, which means your son in the only sufferer in your family so far. However, you need not lose heart as I have several easy tips for you to make your kitchen gluten free. Follow the 5 simple tips listed below to make your very own safe gluten free kitchen. Before you read and follow these 5 steps, remember that cross contamination in such an environment such as your kitchen, (where dual cooking is carried out) is very likely and you need to prevent this from occurring. Cross contamination is one of the most common causes of returning symptoms. Once you achieve the art of preventing cross contamination, you need not worry about gluten contamination any more.

...continue reading

A Quick Review of some of our products

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Product Review on 11-21-2012   

  continue reading

Black Friday Sale

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 11-20-2012   

   

Black Friday is the busiest shopping day in the United States and Canada and it is just a few days away and I have a major announcement! We have a sale so big I have to wait until Friday at 12:00 am EST to release it. But there is good news! You can avoid the long lineups and shop from the comfort of your own home! Just check back with us on Friday to see the amazing Black Friday Deals we have! 


Black Friday is the best time of the year to get amazing deals but why not get a head start and treat yourself or a loved one to some incredible gluten free recipes for a price so good we might as well give it away!


Please sign up to get the email announcement as to when our Black Friday sale goes live!

...continue reading

Is Alcohol Gluten Free?

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 11-19-2012   

   

"Is alcohol gluten free? I am gluten intolerant but enjoy a drink now and again and have been cautious about drinking at all since I was diagnosed. What alcohol can I drink on a gluten free diet?" - Bob B. - Tampa Bay, Florida 

Being gluten intolerant should not act as a deterrent and you should continue enjoying alcoholic beverages. Fortunately, there are many alcoholic beverages that can be consumed. The majority of alcoholic beverages are free from gluten and you can continue to enjoy your regular evening toast!! Alcoholic beverages that undergo distillation are safe for consumption, though they may be prepared from gluten or from gluten free grains. The distillation process ensures complete removal of gluten from the beverage rendering it absolutely safe for celiac sufferers. But yes, you should certainly keep an eye on those that contain gluten and maintain a safe distance from them!!

Before we go on to further in understanding gluten free alcoholic beverages, let us first quickly know what gluten does inside the body. Gluten is a protein composite found in wheat, rye, barley and triticale. Individuals intolerant towards this protein composite are unable to digest it. When gluten containing foods are consumed by such individuals, it triggers several autoimmune reactions inside the body. The gluten passes undigested through the small intestine and damages the lining of the organ. It then reaches the large intestine, wherein the bacteria present there breaks down the gluten and produces gas. This then causes abdominal distention and bloating, which eases off only when the gluten is excreted from the body. Gluten intolerance can only be controlled by consuming gluten free foods....continue reading

Is Risotto Gluten Free?

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 11-16-2012   

   

"I love food and at the same time gluten intolerant. Is risotto gluten free? I love dining at restaurants and enjoy trying out new recipes and eating my old favorites. Gluten intolerance has limited my food options, and with every recipe,I keeping wondering whether it is right for me or not. Kindly tell that is risotto gluten free?" - Tanya P. - Montreal, Quebec

Yes, risotto is gluten free and you can include it in your gluten free diet. Risotto is basically creamy rice based Italian dish. None of its form contains gluten as it is made from rice and rice is naturally gluten free.    

Risotto is thought to be one of the most preferred dishes for gluten intolerant individuals. It is made from Arborio rice which is free from the protein composite gluten and is a rich source of complex carbohydrate and protein. Due to its high nutritional value and zero gluten content, it has received much deserved popularity in the recent past.

...continue reading

Pages:    Previous   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11   Next