Welcome To The InJust10Pages Blog Channel


InJust10Pages blogs use a special multi-blog channel system. What the heck does that mean? It means that each blog category is actually a separate blog. As a result you can subscribe to the specific RSS feed and Facebook Fan Page of that specific topic.


Here's what to do to get access to topic-specific content:

1. Choose your favorite topic from the blog menu on the left

2. Click the orange icon beside the blog title to subscribe via rss

3. Click the Facebook image/icon to unlock topic-specific bonus resources not available on the blog

4. Sign-up for free Microbook access

5. Start reading and enjoy all the FREE content

Gluten Free Thanksgiving

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 11-13-2012   

   

"Thanksgiving Day is around the corner and it needs to be gluten free! I need some tips as to what should prepare for my family and friends. My husband is gluten intolerant and I need to cook a special gluten free dinner that all will enjoy. Can you help me out with my gluten free Thanksgiving?"

Thanksgiving is the one holiday that entirely revolves around food. This becomes even more challenging when you or a guest is gluten intolerant. If this is your first time as a host and you are trying to cook a gluten free Thanksgiving meal for a number of people (intolerant to gluten or not) than you don't have to worry. Chances are you enjoy cooking and creating a delicious gluten free meal is a lot more easy than you might think.

If it is your job to prepare the meal for your guests and you regularly cook gluten free dishes than keep doing what you do best! There is no reason to suddenly worry. The entire year you prepare and consume gluten free foods and now when a special event arrives we seem to get the jitters. Don't worry! You already know how to make amazing gluten free dishes, but if you need some more ideas for a meal plan then check out my article called gluten free Thanksgiving recipes and tips.

...continue reading

Gluten Free Thanksgiving Recipes and Tips

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Gluten-Free Recipes on 11-12-2012   

   

Finding gluten free Thanksgiving recipes with some easy to follow menu tips for a gluten free Thanksgiving can be easier than you think. Thanksgiving day is just around the corner. If you are hosting friends and family, and are struggling to come up with some gluten free recipes for this Thanksgiving, you don't need to worry. I have created an amazing list of recipes and menu so you can make the big day perfect for everyone! You can create your own menu and have your guests begging for these recipes! Browse each of these recipes or simply download my Gluten Free Thanksgiving Recipes Microbook for free!It's a simple PDF file that is readable on oyur smartphone, kindle, laptop or any device! Click the image below to get your free download.

...continue reading

What can you eat on a gluten free diet?

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 11-12-2012   

   

"What can I eat on a gluten free diet? I am diagnosed with gluten intolerance and have been asked to eliminate gluten from my diet. What all foods do I need to exclude and include in my diet" - Gina H. Dallas, Texas

The answer to this is straight and simple. Avoid all those foods that are made from wheat, rye, barley and triticale. These are the primary sources of gluten and should be avoided.

“What can I eat on a gluten free diet”, is one of the most common questions that I have come across. Increasing number of individuals are falling prey to celiac disease and they are put on a strict gluten free diet as the treatment regime. What all foods are omitted and included in a gluten free diet will be discussed in further details. But before that, let us quickly understand what harm gluten can do to celiac sufferers.

Gluten is a protein composite that most commonly found in wheat, rye, barley and triticale. When gluten is taken in, it triggers several autoimmune reactions inside the body causing the small intestine to act in a nasty manner. The small intestine becomes disabled and can no longer absorb nutrients from the food consumed. Symptoms experienced by individuals consist of gastrointestinal distress, malnutrition, depression, fatigue, sexual disorders and malabsorption syndrome.

The foods that can be included in gluten free diet consists of all those grains except the ones mentioned above (wheat, rye, barley and triticale). Oats are also often excluded from the gluten free list if they are found to be contaminated with gluten. Gluten intolerant individuals should also take a note of food stuffs that are prepared from wheat and avoid them. Remember that all those foods and drinks that contain the gluten grains should be strictly avoided.

...continue reading

Are Potatoes Gluten Free?

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 11-09-2012   

  "Are potatoes gluten free? Is every potato gluten free? Since I am sensitive to gluten, I am told to avoid several foods. I am extremely careful in selecting the foods that I can consume. I was thinking of including potatoes in my gluten free diet. Are potatoes gluten free?" - Pam H. - West Palm Beach, Florida

Yes, potatoes are gluten free in their natural form and straight from the field. But is every potato you eat gluten free? Potatoes are a healthy alternative and a common side dish for a gluten free diet and are regularly included for most people. Potatoes are an excellent source of carbohydrates and contain lot of other nutrients too.

On a gluten free diet, three major cereal sources are strictly avoided; these are wheat, rye and barley. Gluten intolerant individuals often do not get enough carbohydrates because these cereals are a common source and as with any diet, it's important to include carbohydrates with your gluten free diet. of carbohydrate and should be included in gluten free diet.


...continue reading

Is Mustard Gluten Free?

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 11-07-2012   

   

Is mustard gluten free?? Yes, pure mustard is gluten free and you can include it in your gluten free diet. Mustard is a spice and it has no relation to gluten, neither can it become contaminated with the same during harvesting. Hence, you can use mustard in your diet. However, you need to take this fact with a grain of salt. I need to know the kind and form of mustard you wish to use in your gluten free diet. This is because, there are various forms of ‘prepared’ mustard seeds that contain wheat flour or malt vinegar which makes those forms of mustard gluten rich. By ‘prepared’ mustard seeds I mean the processed form of the seeds that are widely available. Such processed form of mustard seeds should be purchased only after carefully reading the label. So, is mustard actually gluten free? Let us understand this in a better way. The article will guide you and tell you about the forms of mustard that are gluten free.

...continue reading

Is Maltodextrin Gluten Free?

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 11-05-2012   

   

Can you please tell me whether the additive maltodextrin is gluten free? Yes, maltodextrin is gluten free but you must be aware of all ingredients. Maltodextrin is prepared from a variety of starchy sources including potato, corn, and rice starch. It is also prepared from wheat, but is still considered to be gluten free. Now, let us understand how. But, before we tread into this, let me first explain what maltodextrin actually is.


Maltodextrin is basically a sweet polysaccharide that gets easily digested as compared to other forms of carbohydrates. It is prepared by cooking down the starch; and what remains at the end is plain white powder. The calorie content is just about 4 Kcal / gm of powder and has negligible amounts of fiber, protein and fat. Maltodextrin imparts mouth feel to many foods while it itself has no flavor. It is sometimes added to beer to increase its specific gravity and to reduce the dryness of the product. This was all about the preparation and uses of maltodextrin. Let us now go back to the question with which we had begun our article.

...continue reading

Is Wine Gluten Free?

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 11-02-2012   

Is Wine Gluten Free? Yes, both red and white wine is gluten free! It is prepared from grapes and not grains; hence it is safe to say it's gluten free. In certain instances, wine is also prepared from pomegranates or other berries, again a fruit source. Grapes or pomegranate or berries along with yeasts are fermented in barrel tanks and that is how wine is made. However, there can be some instances when gluten can get introduced into wine during its preparatory process. The first possible source for gluten contamination is the barrels where the wine is fermented. In earlier times, the barrel heads were closed tightly with a paste made from flour. However, today this practice is not in much use. If you still have any doubts, you can opt for those wines that are fermented in oak barrels; example of one such wine is Riesling....continue reading

Chef Liz Scott

Posted by In Just 10 Pages in About Our Experts on 11-01-2012   

Chef Liz Scott is the award-winning author of seven books on healthy cooking and eating, including recipe writing and menu development for specialty diets such as gluten-free, sugar-free, and dairy-free. She is a graduate of the prestigious French Culinary Institute in New York City and has been applauded again and again for her creative and innovative work by food writers and critics. Recognized by the National Health Information Network for excellence in Patient Education and Information, Chef Liz is also a coveted speaker and consultant at health facilities and treatment centers around the globe and is a contributing columnist to numerous online newsletters and blogs with a healthy focus....continue reading

Gluten Free Pancake Recipe

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Gluten-Free Recipes on 10-31-2012   

   

Sunday has always been one of my favourite days. Especially growing up. It might have been the one day that I could sleep in a little longer and lay in my warm bed until the morning sun would fill my room, but it wasn't like that. Sunday mornings always remind me of the traditional pancake breakfast with my family.


Before the sun could melt me under my covers, the aroma of fresh pancakes being cooked would always wake me. I can remember rushing from my bed to watch my father mix up the next batch of his famous pancakes. I can still hear the whisk furiously stirring against the sides of the glass bowl and I remember watching the bright yellow egg yolk disappear into the fluffy white batter. He would always pour the perfect amount into the frying pan and the distinct sizzle would unleash the potent aroma that got me out of my bed in the first place. I couldn't wait until everyone else was awake so we could sit down together, lather each delicious pancake with maple syrup and fill our bellies until we were completely satisfied. For me pancakes are something of a comfort food that remind me of my youth.


Like most things, traditions change and when I began to eat gluten free, so did my appetite for Sunday morning pancakes.

...continue reading

What Does Gluten Free Mean?

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 10-31-2012   

"What does gluten free actually mean? I am new diagnosed and am being told to stop eating gluten and live a gluten free life. But, what does gluten free actually mean? Some “gluten free” packaged foods label reads as ‘gluten content less than 20ppm’, now does that mean it is gluten free? Please help…" I understand your dilemma and will help you understand what “gluten free” is. Gluten free implies all those foods that either do not contain gluten or have gluten less than 20 ppm (the value you just mentioned in your question). The FDA says that all those foods that contain less than 20ppm of gluten can be considered to be gluten free. Gluten free has acquired the much needed popularity in recently. With more and more individuals being diagnosed with gluten intolerance, gluten free eating has become the only way to eliminate symptoms in patients such as yourself. Having said this, it becomes all the more necessary to understand what actually gluten free means. ...continue reading

Is Couscous Gluten Free?

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 10-29-2012   

"Is couscous gluten free? Living with gluten intolerance is a bit difficult and I keep searching for products that I can eat on a gluten free diet. I used to love couscous, and I am not sure whether it contains gluten or not. Can you please tell me?" Unfortunately my friend, couscous is not gluten free. It is made from wheat and wheat contains gluten and hence couscous also contains gluten. But, before you get disappointed there is something else that I want to tell you. Couscous is now available in a gluten free form. The gluten free variety of couscous is not made from wheat but from brown rice. The couscous made from brown rice has a texture similar to that of the original couscous. This can also be made from white rice, but the brown rice variety tastes a little better. Brown rice couscous is available in...continue reading

Is Fried Chicken Gluten Free

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 10-26-2012   

   

"I love fried chicken, but since I was diagnosed with celiac disease, I always maintain a safe distance from it. But, there are several restaurants that have put gluten free fried chicken on their menu. Is the gluten free fried chicken safe for consumption?" - Al H.  Edmonton, Alberta

To answer in short, fried chick can be considered gluten free, but it depends on the ingredients used to make it. It's worth noting that the need for gluten free foods are on the rise in the western world due to increasing number of celiac patients. Of the several gluten free food options available, gluten free fried chicken is becoming more and more popular and is one that has gained much needed attention due to its popularity. Fried chicken is often made using wheat flour and cannot be included in the gluten free menu. However, with increased demand for gluten free fried chicken, some restaurants are making that option available. These restaurants make it without the wheat flour and this has brought smiles on face of all gluten intolerant individuals. Fried chicken prepared at home using gluten free flours is absolutely safe for celiac individuals. If you often cook using gluten free flours, and your kitchen is also gluten free,  then “gluten free fried chicken” is safe for you because chicken itself is gluten free.

...continue reading

Is Buckwheat Gluten Free

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 10-24-2012   

  
"Is buckwheat gluten free? Is it safe for me to eat? Are buckwheat incorporated recipes safe for me and my family?" - Ashley P. St. Paul Minnesota

Yes, buckwheat is gluten free and you and your family can savor recipes made from it. Unlike its name, buckwheat does not contain wheat!! And for that matter buckwheat and wheat do not even belong to the same botanical families. Buckwheat is essentially a fruit derived from the plant Fagopyrum esculentum. Buckwheat is often thought to have wheat like properties, as the seeds of this fruit are often processed and consumed in form of cereal and hence they are referred to as pseudo cereal. The buckwheat seeds are first dehulled and the remainder material is known as groats. These groats can be ground into flour. The buckwheat flour can be either roasted or consumed or the flour can be added to various preparations as substitute for wheat flour.

...continue reading

Is Red Bull Gluten Free?

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 10-14-2012   

  


Is Red Bull Gluten Free? That is the first question I asked myself when Felix Baumgartner landed safely after his incredible, world record breaking jump from over 128,000 feet.


What if he was undiagnosed and had one Red Bull just before he launched into space... Can you imagine him jumping out at 100 feet in hopes of finding a toilet? Or even worse.... Imagine he had symptoms when he was ready to jump?! There would have been million of disappointed spectators and the person who cleaned his suit wouldn't have been too impressed either. Most of us aren't under that kind of pressure with millions of eyes watching.

...continue reading

Is Quinoa Gluten Free?

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 10-12-2012   

   

"Is quinoa gluten free? I was wondering whether or not to include quinoa in my gluten free meal. Some sources say it is gluten free, while some say it is not. Is quinoa safe for me or not?" - Victoria B. - Dallas, Texas 

Yes, quinoa is definitely safe for you. Quinoa is absolutely gluten free and can be included in a gluten free diet. Quinoa is a plant seed which belongs to the family of spinach. Quinoa in raw form is gluten free. Quinoa is very rich in protein and it contains all of the 9 essential amino acids. These proteins present in quinoa are similar to those present in the milk and are highly digestible, unlike other varieties of plant proteins. Quinoa was considered to be the most desirable gluten free food option due to its high nutritional value and gluten free attribute.

...continue reading

What can you eat on a gluten free diet?

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 10-08-2012   

  



"What can I eat on a gluten free diet? I have been diagnosed with gluten intolerance and have been asked to eliminate gluten from my diet. What all foods do I need to exclude and include in my diet?" - Becky S. - New York, New York

The answer to this is straight and simple. Avoid all those foods that are made from wheat, rye, barley and triticale. These are the primary sources of gluten and should be avoided.

“What can you eat on a gluten free diet”, is one of the most common questions that I have come across. Increasing number of individuals are falling prey to celiac disease and they are put on a strict gluten free diet as the only treatment. What all foods are omitted and included in a gluten free diet will be discussed in further details, but before that, let us quickly understand what harm gluten can do to celiac sufferers.

The foods that can be included in gluten free diet consists of grains except the ones mentioned above (wheat, rye, barley and triticale). Oats are also often excluded from the gluten free list if they are sometimes found to be contaminated with gluten.

There is a comprehensive list of foods provided in this article will help you plan your gluten free meal and you can create your own mouth watering gluten free dishes!!


...continue reading

My Diagnosis for Celiac Disease - My Celiac Story

Posted by Guest Author - Angela Strand in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 10-05-2012   

My Diagnosis for Celiac Disease - My Celiac Story

Written by: Angela Strand.

I have always struggled with various medical problems, but my diagnosis for Celiac Disease arrived far too late. Most ailments were seemingly insignificant like mild asthma and chronic sinus infections; thankfully nothing was life threatening, though I was on a first name basis with a number of doctors. I always thought I lead a pretty normal teenager’s life… Trips to the mall, glitter nail polish, school dances, tennis practice and the occasional struggle with school! As I entered into college and started growing up I started to realize that my health was anything but normal; it was a steady decline until one day everything just hit the fan.


...continue reading

Is Popcorn Gluten Free?

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 09-29-2012   

Popcorn is a favorite snack amongst kids and ditto for adults. “Is popcorn gluten free??” - a question that is a common cause of concern of several individuals suffering from gluten intolerance. Gluten intolerance is an autoimmune disorder wherein the body adversely reacts to the protein composite gluten. When gluten containing foods is ingested it triggers several reactions inside the body making the small intestine incapable of absorbing nutrients from the food. In this process, the body does not get enough nourishment from the food due to poor functioning of the small intestine....continue reading

My Celiac Story. My Celiac Diagnosis.

Posted by Guest Author - "DeeDee" in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 09-24-2012   

Our many thanks to our guest author "DeeDee". This is a story from her battle with Celiac Disease. She is a voice that some of us may know, but for others, it is also a wake up call. Asking the question "Am I gluten intolerant" is sometimes half the battle. "DeeDee" unknowingly lived with Celiac disease for most of her life and her doctors thought she may have cancer because of the damage done to her intestines. This is truly an inspiring and continuing story of her life and her battle with gluten.

DeeDee - My Celiac Story. My Celiac Diagnosis. - May 2012    

"2012 had finally begun.  The last couple years had not been the greatest so I was in a hurry for 2012 to come.  Even though people were convinced that 2012 would be the end of the world, thanks to the Mayans, I was ready for a fresh start!  I may be 46 but felt like mid-30’s!

...continue reading

Is Cheese Gluten Free?

Posted by In Just 10 Pages, Dekker, Conrad in Celiac Disease | Gluten Intolerance | Gluten Sensitivity (GS) on 09-22-2012   

  


"Is cheese gluten free? I love cheese and want to know if it is safe to include in my diet."  It depends on the type of cheese. Nearly types of cheese are gluten free but some aren't. For an extensive list of the types of cheese that are gluten free you'll find it later in this article.

Cheese is a milk product that is loved by all and is naturally free from gluten. However, some of studies reveal that even cheese may contain gluten. Why? Even though cheese is a milk product (and milk being free from gluten), what makes some types of cheese contain gluten? The types of cheese that contain gluten usually has added flavoring, preservatives or becomes contaminated with gluten due to several other factors.

...continue reading

Pages:    Previous   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12   Next